Páramo Long Term Review

Paramo Enduro Jacket & Trousers in inclement weather

Páramo Long Term Review

It’s been nearly 6 years since I’ve written my “Páramo enduro jacket review: Part 1”. Back then my life looked slightly different. I had just finished my masters’ degree and I still had a lot of time on my hands and little responsibilities. I always intended to write a follow-up review of my Páramo jacket, but I guess I’d have to say ‘life happened’.

That being said, in these 6 years my Páramo jacket(s) became an absolute favourite in my wardrobe for wet conditions, and they have probably more stories to tell than I can write up in this little review.

So, where should I start?

Wearing comfort in wet and dry weather

For those who aren’t well acquainted with Páramo: This unique UK-based sister-brand of Nikwax promises full waterproof performance in foul (Icelandic winter) conditions, without the use of waterproof membranes or PU Coatings. All this whilst manufacturing their garments in the Miquelina Foundation, Guatemala, ensuring training and job security for women at risk in the region.

The Nikwax Analogy system mimicks animals’ fur to combine waterproofness and breathability. The outer layer, a nylon windshell at Páramo / long hairs in an animals’ fur, beads off the largest raindrops. The inner layer, or so-called pump liner (comparable to a mid/heavyweight baselayer in warmth) / short hairs in an animals’ fur actively pumps water that seeps through the outer layer back to the outside, away from the skin. Both animals and Páramo rely on some sort of DWR to activate this directional handling of water. Animals produce lanolin for this, Páramo has to be treated with Nikwax TX.direct. In very wet conditions the result is that the fur/Páramo jacket wil look wet, but the wearer is warm and dry underneath.

Because there is no waterproof coating or membrane, sweat and vapour can move out of the jacket without significant barriers, which allows the jacket to dry much faster and more naturally than any membrane/coating based weather protection. Those who’ve done some miles in a waterproof shell, will certainly know the sweltering feeling of working a sweat and having all that moisture trapped in your layering system. This is why many people avoid wearing their waterproof layer unless its absolutely necessary. This is absolutely no issue with a Páramo jacket, because moisture can easily move out of the jacket and is theoretically even stimulated to do so by the Pump liner. Or as my wife states it:

“A Gore Tex gets clammy and cold when its raining. My Páramo just stays warm and soft”.

Mrs. AdventuresByQ

Isn’t that what we all wish for when the weather turns foul on us? A soft and warm blanket to wrap ourselves in when the storm rages outside. Well, I can wholeheartedly confirm that this is exactly what my Páramo does for me.

What’s even better about it, is that the jacket feels exactly as comfortable when it’s not raining cats and dogs outside. A  Páramo jacket has of course some warmth to it, which limits their use in the warmer summer months. But in just about every other condition your Páramo will keep you nice and comfortable.

Care, washing & wetting out

Páramo is very transparent that their products should be treated regularly with Nikwax Tech Wash (regular washing, about 4x/year) and Nikwax TX.Direct (reproofing, at least 1x/year).

I’ve been keeping up with this schedule for my Páramo jackets, and after 6 years I don’t really have anything to add to it. Of course you’ll have to adjust the regularity to your own use, just make sure you treat your Páramo often enough to maintain its performance. No need to overdo it.

Remember my first experiences with my Páramo Enduro jacket: it wetted out the very first time it rained. Even though there were no obvious signs the jacket was due a treatment. I had only had it for about 2 months and it hadn’t seen any serious sweat or rain before. Unfortunately I did have to learn to accept that sometimes a failure just happens. Even when treated as prescribed, sometimes the Nikwax Analogy just doesn’t work as it should. We’ve even experienced this immediately after a fresh reproofing cycle.

I don’t have a definitive answer to why that sometimes happens. After getting in touch with Páramo, they seem to think these “sudden failures” can mostly be attributed to some kind of contamination: some leftover detergent in the washing machine, dirt in the shoulder/hip straps of your backpack,… Stuff you can’t really predict. It’s a bit of a disappointment that we cannot pinpoint the reason of sudden failures, because this means that for prolonged treks or heavy weather predictions, we still pack a super light waterproof shell in our backpack. Just in case.

On the other hand, like I described in the previous chapter and in my other Páramo reviews (Velez Light Smock, Enduro jacket), the sheer comfort of wearing a Páramo fiercely outweighs the small weight penalty of carrying a backup rainshell.

When everything goes well, your Páramo will not exactly signal when it’s time to give it a reproofing cycle, but I’ve found that the cuffs tend to be the first parts that show some wetting out when a reproofing cycle is due. When I’m living in my Páramo jacket during our wet Belgian winters, I tend to see that the timing of wetting out cuffs more or less matches the 4washes/year and 1-2 reproofings/year cyclus that Páramo prescribes.

The Velez Jacket is a great allround jacket with a near-perfect hood. It keeps me dry on even the wettest and muddiest mountain(bike) tours

The Páramo product lineup

Over the years I have become very fond of the ‘Páramo feeling’, and I have been skimming all second hand platforms trying to find more Páramo goodness for my wife and friends (and while doing so, also myself). As the brand is quite unknown here in mainland Europe, I sometimes stumble upon very cheaply priced older models. 40 to 120 euros is not an exceptional price to be found second hand!  Their looks and fit will probably date from the late nineties or early nillies, but I wouldn’t doubt their performance for a second. More recent models are harder to find and have been mostly priced at around 70% of their retail price.

Along the  way I’ve found my beautiful wife an Alta 3 coat (a bit heavy but fully featured and very comfortable allround coat) which she wears on her daily commute by Speedpedelec and when we’re out and about in the rain. We’ve also found an older Mirada jacket (a simple lightweight model) that is less of a weight penalty on a longer trekking.

The most beautiful and amazing woman in the world staying “warm and soft” in her Alta III jacket

Glenn & Lisa (Belleave.be) who have been cycling around Europe for the last 2 years swear by their Mirada jacket and Velez Adventure Light smock. Especially Lisa’s Mirada jacket has seen all seasons all over Europe! Pretty impressive! The Mirada jacket is a lightweight interpretation of the Nikwax Analogy construction: Thinner materials and lighter weight, in a simple but undisputably functional jacket format.

Nina found a slightly oversized Velez Adventure smock that she wears all year round, even though the size and fit aren’t perfect. The smock is just too comfortable. The Velez Adventure Smock could be called the ‘Signature’ Paramo item, having a very functional allround design and being priced the most accessably. Its fit is generally on the wide and short side.

Lies recently acquired a Velez Adventure Light smock for a dumping price, after she too experienced the unparallelled comfort when she borrowed ours. I see her wearing hers all the time, even though she has been unlucky that her smock failed a few times in a row. The Velez Adventure light Smock is exactly the same as the regular Velez smock, but made with lighter materials. Both in the mens and the womens’ version, the smock is rather wide and short.

Peter (www.verreweg.be) digs his Velez jacket and keeps bragging about how his Cascada trousers are the best waterproof trousers he’s ever had. The Cascada trousers are made with the heavier/stronger Nikwax Analogy and have a simple straight cut with full zips on the sides. The Velez jacket combines classic and lightweight Nikwax Analogy panels with smart pocket/ventilation openings for an extremely versatile jacket that happens to have the best hood in the Páramo lineup. (At least, mine has. I’ve seen on the Páramo website that they made changes to the hood design) the fit is quite wide with plenty long arms but a slightly short torso. Some people size down for a better fit.

I’ve allowed myself the luxury of a small collection.

I wear my hi-vis Ciclo jacket 2 days/ week on my Speedpedelec commute to work. This is a lightweight model with details optimized for cycling. It is supposed to have a trim fit, but most people including myself need to size down to obtain that slim fit! I especially appreciate the longer back and the very long sleeves on this (discontinued) model.

When out in nature (or just walking the dog) I deeply enjoy both my Enduro jacket and my Velez Jacket.

The Enduro jacket comes with stretch panels but those actually don’t really do much. The jacket gets its credits from its good fit (very technical with room for layers) and perfect placement of pockets.

My Velez jacket in the most beautiful Pumpkin orange is a staple in my wardrobe, because of its very multifunctional design that strikes a very good balance between features, fit and weight.

I acquired a pair of Enduro trousers too (mine are the 1st generation of this model). I absolutely adore the trousers when I get myself to wear them, but they have a very weird fit and are at least 8 cm (3 inches) too short for my legs, so I always need to wear gaiters with them. It has some stretch panels (which don’t really seem to add much), full side zippers, snow skirts and reinforcments at the ankles. Hopefully Páramo will some day release a version that actually fits well for us Europeans. In the time between, just go for the Cascada trousers!

For a while I have been experimenting with an Analogy Fleece and Windshirt: this is the concept of a Nikwax Analogy jacket split into two pieces of clothing. Instead of a jacket with an integrated pump liner, the jacket is split into a light fleece and windshirt. Although I am certain this combination should work just as well as an integrated model, I just never could make if work for myself.

Conclusion

As I’ve stated earlier in this review, I’ve become really fond of the Páramo experience. Although Nikwax Analogy has some downsides (its weight and sudden failures), the comfort advantages still greatly outweigh those gripes. This is why I deeply believe that everyone who makes a serious hobby of enjoying the outdoors, should at least once experience Páramo at its best. I’m quite sure most will become just as addicted as myself.

Truth be told, Páramo is rather costly for a little known technology. Their jackets are right in the same price range as mid- to high-end Gore Tex, which can be quite a threshold for those who haven’t yet experienced the ‘Páramo feeling’. On top of that, all their Nikwax Analogy (= waterproof) models feature pretty much the same materials, which in some cases makes it hard to justify the price difference between models in the catalogue. I therefore would advise most to keep their eyes open on the second hand market to get an older (and therefore cheaper) model. I have no doubts a 20 year old and battered Nikwax Analogy that is properly washed/treated will perform just as well as a new one. And while you’re on the secondhand market, also checkout the british cottage brands Furtech and Cioch, that make use of the same technology. (I can’t vouch for their design or fit, but I woudn’t doubt their build quality and performance)

When eventually you are as certain as I am about how a Páramo outperforms almost everything you know (I’d say only a Pile Pertex like Buffalo Systems can keep up with Páramo, but in a totally different way), you’ll agree that the price-performance ratio for Páramo is actually much better than average. As your single Páramo jacket is capable of replacing both your hardshell and softshell and even (part of) your mid layer, +/- €300-400 new (average) is a steal when compared to most alternatives in the classic 3-layer system. Especially when we factor in the off-the-charts breathability and durability of a Páramo, because this imposes we should compare Páramo to higher-end gear anyways.  Just note that you might want a super light and simple backup waterproof to keep in your backpack. Something like a mac-in-a-sac rainshell is plenty fine, and will set you back max €60. Another nuance to be made is that all outdoor gear can perform admirably in the right conditions. I’m addressing Páramo for cool and wet climates such as UK, Iceland, Belgian cold season, and the Nordics in the warmer months of the year. In climates such as the Alps or southern Europe I too make different gear choices than Páramo.

Of course I own too many Páramo jackets. If I’d have to choose, I’d say the Velez jacket is the best allround product in the Páramo lineup. Within the limits of the Nikwax Analogy concept, it strikes a very good balance between weight and strength. The hood fits very well (better than any other Páramo hood I’ve come across) and the smart raised pockets with integrated ventilation to their job as they should, without adding complexity (and weight) to the jacket. The fit is pretty good too, albeit a little short. Lastly, the Velez jacket is priced quite reasonably within the Páramo lineup (which, in all honesty, the Enduro jacket is not really: Look into the Alta III or Velez evolution hybrid for an equivalent model at a more correct price point)

Ciclo jacket on a 140km randonneuring tour

When you decide to buy one, please go with the funkiest colour you can get. I know Páramo colour choices can be polarizing at times, but we’ve seen enough black, khaki and navy blue out there!

Find yours at:

https://paramo-clothing.com/en-in

www.verreweg.be


Een reactie op “Páramo Long Term Review

Plaats een reactie